No Sales Solicitation Calls, Please!
Do you get incensed by telephone solicitors? If you answered yes, then you are not alone. About 31,000 Floridians have called a state hotline to get on a No Sales Solicitation Calls list.
The list is part of the 1987 Florida Telephonic Sales Act, which requires all telemarketers to obtain the list before operating in the state. The list is updated quarterly and published the first business day of January, April, July, and October.
People pay $10 to put their telephone number on the list the first year and $5 each following year. Telephone solicitors who try to sell to people on the list risk fines of up to $10,000. Since 1992, the state has collected over $45,000 in fines.
Of course, there are exceptions. These include telephone marketers responding to a request by a consumer, those calling in connection with a debt or contract, those in the newspaper business and those asking for charitable donations.
To get on the list, call 1-800-435-7352 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. Or visit Florida Do Not Call